Since 20 Amendment was approved by the Parliament President Gotabaya Rajapaksa is empowered to make appointments to the Superior Court of Sri Lanka.

Accordingly President Gotabhaya Rajapakse sent in names of six Court of Appeal judges to the newly established Parliamentary Council to be considered to the vacancies in the Supreme Court where the bench is to be expanded from 11 to 17.

Following Judges were nominated to the Supreme Court by the President of Sri Lanka – Court of Appeal President Justice A.M.D. Nawaz and Justices Kumudini Wickremesinghe, Shiran Gunaratne, Achala Wengappuli, Mahinda Samayawardana and Janak de Silva.

However the Attorney General of Sri Lanka Dappula de Livera has raised objections to the said move stating that senior members of the Attorney General department should be considered for vacancies in the Supreme Court and the Court of Appeal and has notified his recommendations.

It is further reported that AG had nominated four Additional Solicitors General to be considered for the vacancies namely Sarath Jayamanne, Indika Devamuni, Farzana Jameel and Priyantha Nawana.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here