In what was expected to be a return of the usual high-scoring ODI in India, which had gone missing for the last two years, Virat Kohli won the toss and decided to put runs on the board. New Zealand would have batted first too, Kane Williamson said, had he won the toss.

In a surprising move, India dropped Manish Pandey – looking for a long run to stake his claim to a middle-order slot – for Dinesh Karthik, who came back into the squad on the back of domestic runs. Shikhar Dhawan reclaimed his his opening slot, replacing Ajinkya Rahane.

An indicator of how good this pitch was to bat on was that New Zealand picked only one specialist spinner. As reported earlier, they decided to play Tom Latham in the middle order, with Colin Munro opening with Martin Guptill.

India 1 Rohit Sharma, 2 Shikhar Dhawan, 3 Virat Kohli (capt), 4 Dinesh Karthik, 5 Kedar Jadhav, 5 MS Dhoni(wk), 7 Hardik Pandya, 8 Bhuvneshwar Kumar, 9 Kuldeep Yadav, 10 Yuzvendra Chahal, 11 Jasprit Bumrah

New Zealand 1 Martin Guptill, 2 Colin Munro, 3 Kane Williamson (capt), 4 Ross Taylor, 5 Tom Latham (wk), 6 Henry Nicholls, 7 Colin de Grandhomme, 8 Mitchell Santner, 9 Adam Milne, 10 Trent Boult, 11 Tim Southee


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here