Sri Lankan President under the powers vested by 20th Amendment has made nominations on heads of several commissions and members for respective commissions.

Accordingly the following nominations have been made by the president as reported in local media:-

Nimal Punchihewa- Chairman of the Election Commission.
M.M. Mohamed, retired Election Commission official who served as a consultant during the past elections, Jeevan Thiagarajah, from the Consortium of Humanitarian Agencies, S. Samadivakara and K.P.P. Pathirana, a retired Senior Deputy Inspector General of Police – Members of Election Commission

Former chairman of the Election Commission Mahinda Deshapriya – Chairman of the Delimitation Commission.

Former Inspector General of Police, Chandra Fernando – Chairman of the National Police Commission

Former Supreme Court judge Eva Wanasundera – Chairman of the Commission to Investigate Allegations of Corruption or Bribery.

Sarath Wijesinghe, Attorney-at-law – Chairman of the Human Rights Commission

Former Cabinet Secretary Sumith Abeysinghe Chairman of the Finance Commission

Retired Justice Upali Abeyratne -Chairman of the Missing Persons Commission.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here