Parliamentary Council of Sri Lanka has approved six Judges to the Supreme Court whilst naming Justice Arjuna Obeyesekere as the Appeallate Court President. Accordingly Supreme Court shall have 17 judges and Appeallate Court shall have 20.

The Speaker Of Parliament has stated that the new appointments would be made by President Gotabaya Rajapaksa shortly.

Court of Appeal President Justice A.M.D. Nawaz and Justices Kumudini Wickremesinghe, Shiran Gunaratne, Achala Wengappuli, Mahinda Samayawardana and Janak de Silva were President Gotabaya Rajapaksa’s nominees to the Supreme Court.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here